Uncategorized

Happy New Year!

It’s New Year’s Day, 2015! A day of sleeping-in, reflections, Bowl games, resolutions and new beginnings.

I started the day sitting in front of my light box. Checked my emails, nothing of real interest. Wait, Danny Gregory has a new blog post. He writes, “It is so important to allow our creative expression to go where it will, not to control it and lock it into the compartments and definitions we think suit it today.”

This had me thinking about my breast cancer journey and how art played a very big and important role. You could say my creative expression went a little wild. A bright pink Mohawk. A thousand folded paper origami cranes. Henna tattoos on my bald head, A slide show set to the song “Keep Your Head Up” by Andy Grammer. Thirty-three plus paintings by my sister, using my head as the canvas. And the development of Cranes of Hope. It was what I needed to do to express myself at the time. To heal, to learn, to give back and to grow.

Make 2015 a year of creative expression. Dance, write, sing, paint, draw, play and have some fun while you’re at it. Let it go wherever it takes you.

Wishing you a wonderful creative year!
Hugs,
Jeanne

1 thought on “Happy New Year!”

  1. Hello,
    I received # 634 crane of hope today at Spoonriver. Is it possible to meet the person who gave the crane to me? Unfortunately my memory doesn’t go that far back if this is someone I know. If we join art companys I am from the USA too possibly.

    Thanks,
    Dom Colasanti

    Like

Leave a Reply

